ROK National Assembly Exchange

Mansfield Foundation Hosts Korean National Assembly Delegation

August 18-22, 2008

Washington, D.C.

The Maureen and Mike Mansfield Foundation welcomed five members of Korea’s National Assembly to Washington August 18-22, 2008 to discuss issues of importance to U.S.-Korea relations. Members of the delegation included: Chin Young (Grand National Party);Jeon Hye-Sook (Democratic Party); Lee Dal-gon (Grand National Party); Lim Hae-kyu(Grand National Party); and Park Sang-Eun (Grand National Party).

National Assembly 2008 006

Executive Director Gordon Flake briefed National Assembly members at the Mansfield Foundation’s Washington office.

The study visit was supported by the National Assembly of the Republic of Korea and the Korea Foundation. During five days of meetings, the Korean lawmakers met with U.S. government officials and Asia experts to discuss issues including: U.S. policy and perspectives on North Korea; U.S. relations with China and other Asian nations; the presidential candidates’ views on Asia; and the process and politics involved in U.S. ratification of the Korea-U.S. Free Trade Agreement (KORUS FTA).

National Assembly 2008 012

Michael Green (center) of CSIS and Georgetown University discussed the U.S. elections with National Assembly members Park Sang-Eun, Lim Hae-kyu, Jeon Hye-Sook, Chin Young, and Lee Dal-gon.

The National Assembly members had the opportunity to exchange views on U.S.-Korea relations with Rep. Tom Davis (R-Virginia), Ambassador Joseph DeTrani from the Office of the Director of National Intelligence, and senior congressional staff. They also discussed the November 2008 U.S. elections with the chief Asia advisors for the Obama and McCain campaigns. The group heard about the prospects for the KORUS FTA in discussions with representatives of the U.S. business community, members of the U.S.-Korea FTA Business Coalition, and Korea specialists at Washington think tanks and research organizations.

National Assembly 2008 020

W. Keith Luse (center) of the Senate Committee on Foreign Relations met with National Assembly members Chin Young, Lim Hae-kyu, Jeon Hye-Sook, Lee Dal-gon, and Park Sang-Eun on Capitol Hill.

National Assembly 2008 029

Ambassador Joseph DeTrani of the Office of the Director of National Intelligence briefed the delegation on U.S. policy toward North Korea.

National Assembly members shared their views on issues ranging from North Korean refugees to bilateral beef trade, resulting in frank and productive exchanges with U.S. government and business representatives.

Sign me up for weekly updates

* Email
* First Name
* Last Name
* = Required Field