Mansfield Foundation Board

Mansfield Foundation Board of Directors


L. Desaix Anderson, Chairperson

Painter and Writer


Christopher J. LaFleur, Vice Chairperson

Founder, LM Associates


Mary D. Byron, Treasurer

Retired Partner, Goldman, Sachs & Co.


William T. Breer

Former Japan Chair, Center for Strategic and International Studies


Gerald Leon Curtis

Burgess Professor of Political Science, Columbia University


Rust M. Deming

Adjunct Professor, Johns Hopkins School of International Studies


Frank S. Jannuzi (Ex Officio)

President and CEO

The Maureen and Mike Mansfield Foundation


Sachiko Kuno

President and CEO, S&R Foundation


Osamu Nagata

Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer, Toyota Motor North America, Inc.


Alicia Ogawa

Senior Advisor, Center on Japanese Economy and Business, Columbia Business School


John V. Roos

Former U.S. Ambassador to Japan


Genichiro Shimada*

General Manager, International Relations Group, Panasonic Corporation

* Mr. Shimada resigned from the Board effective October 1, 2016.  Mr. Masato Nakamura (Director, International Relations Department, Panasonic Corporation) has been nominated to succeed him on the Board.


International Advisory Board


Walter F. Mondale, Chairman

Senior Counsel, Dorsey & Whitney, LLP


Rust M. Deming

Adjunct Professor, Johns Hopkins School of International Studies


Charles D. Ferris

Partner, Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky and Popeo


Yasuo Fukuda

Former Prime Minister of Japan


Seung-soo Han

Former Prime Minister, Republic of Korea


Senior International Counsel, WilmerHale


Masayuki Matsushita

Vice Chairman of the Board,Panasonic Corporation


Norman Mineta

Former U.S. Secretary of Commerce and U.S. Secretary of Transportation


Jerry R. Norskog

Director, Genyous BioMed International and CEO, Vitala Therapeutics


J. Thomas Schieffer

Former U.S. Ambassador to Japan



Sign me up for weekly updates

* Email
* First Name
* Last Name
* = Required Field